Take a listen to our weekly digest of the week’s best new music

Kristin Kontrol – X-Communicate

“X-Communicate” is the lead single and title track from Kristin Kontrol’s forthcoming debut album. Kristin Kontrol is the new solo project from Kristin Welchez aka Dee Dee from the always awesome Dum Dum Girls. The sound of Dum Dum Girls was also progressing but this is Kristin’s biggest and best sonic leap. X-Communicate see’s Kristin channelling her early pop influences which includes new-wave princesses Debbie Gibson and Tiffany. There’s no archness in this record, it’s the sound of someone who really loves pop music. X-Communicate will be released on 27 May via Sub Pop Records.

Gabriel Bruce – Metal Soul

Gabriel Bruce has returned with “Metal Soul” – the first rack from his new album Come All Sufferers. Bruce’s sound could be described as a troubadour trapped in a lounge bar – tortured yet entirely at ease. “Metal Soul” sets the tone for the forthcoming album which Bruce says is about “the end of days”. It won’t be pretty but it will sound beautiful.

Weird Dreams – Heaven’s Hounds

Weird Dreams, aka London-based Doran Edwards, has released details about the long-awaited follow-up to 2012’s Choreography and shared new track “Heaven’s Hounds”. Weird Dreams, in a lengthy and eloquent statement, described the album as: “…a collection of songs made over a four-year period of uncertain times in different rooms in various homes.” Sophomore album Luxury Alone will be released on 10 June via Tough Love Records.

BB Diamond – Feeling

BB Diamond has followed-up “Instinct” with another pop belter in the form of “Feeling”. 2015 was a big year for the Essex-born musician. After providing backing vocals for the likes of Katy B, Ella Henderson and Clean Bandit, BB Diamond took her place at the front of the stage and showed she was a future pop force to be reckoned with. When summer finally arrives BB Diamond is will be providing the soundtrack for parties everywhere.

Jake Bugg – Gimme The Love

Jake Bugg has dropped the video for new single “Gimmie The Love”, taken from his eagerly anticipated album On My One. The track boasts Bugg’s signature mix of funky drums and wah-wah guitar, it’s an arresting sound that grabs you from the first beat. Describing the album’s title, Bugg said: “In a lot of ways it sums up this record because it mainly has been me on my own… It was a challenge but something I felt I had to do.” On My One is released on 17 June.

Illangelo – Your Future Is Not Mine

Illangelo, the Canadian producer, songwriter, musician and The Weeknd’s production partner, has shared “Your Future Is Not Mine” – a collaborative multi-vocal remix. The track is a mesmerising fusion of vocals from Joseph of Mercury and Daisy Hamel-Buffas, constantly shifting and chopping – the results are unmistakeably Illangelo. The original track featured on the latest adidas Originals future campaign

Vanessa White – Lipstick Kisses feat. Wretch 32

Of all the outcomes of The Saturdays’ hiatus, Vanessa White releasing an EP of expertly crafted R&B slow jams was perhaps the most unexpected and most delightful. The EP, titled Chapter One, is out now and to whet your appetite White has shared the Rob Heppell directed visuals for “Lipstick Kisses” which features Wretch 32. White is set to perform a headline solo show at Cargo on 16 March.

Norma Jean Martine – Freedom

Singer-songwriter Norma Jean Martine has shared her intoxicating take on the George Michael classic “Freedom”. The track is a perfect showcase for Norma Jean’s unique voice – there is a power and warmth in her vocals that is rare amongst musicians. Originally from Middletown, New York, Norma Jean moved to London to study before taking a year out to throw herself into music and it’s a decision that has definitely paid off. “Freedom” is out now.

Weirdo – Butter

We can’t tell you much about Weirdo other than debut track “Butter” is really great. Arriving in our inbox with nothing but a SoundCloud link, “Butter” is a shimmering slice of tropical-pop that will grip you in seconds. An anti-love song of the highest quality.

M83 – Do It, Try It

French pop auteurs have unleashed “Do It, Try It” – the first single from forthcoming album Junk. The album is the follow-up to the 2011’s Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming which propelled the group to mainstream success and spawned the monstrous “Midnight City”. “Do It, Try It” is a dance opus that explodes into a vibrant, sprawling celebration. Junk will be released on 8 April.

Raleigh Ritchie – Cowards

“Cowards” is taken from singer/songwriter Raleigh Ritchie’s debut You’re A Man Now, Boy which is out now via Columbia Records. A standout track on the album, Raleigh said: “Cowards” has to be one of my favourites on the album- it’s about when you act like a coward, just because you’re trying to impress someone.” The track was produced Chris Loco who has worked with artists including Kylie Minogue and Rita Ora.

Dan Austin

Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →