Pop Smoke’s debut album and Kanye West’s new politically-charged song: all the tunes you need to listen to in this week’s playlist.

Jessie Ware - what's your pleasure

Mabel and AJ Tracey

Jessie Ware - what's your pleasure
Mabel and AJ Tracey

Pop Smoke – Shoot For The Stars Aim For The Moon

On the 19th February 2020, rising hip hop star Pop Smoke was killed in Los Angeles. The young star was only 20 years old and had already collaborated with industry giants such as Nicki Minaj and Travis Scott. But the late rapper left us something very special.

Finished by Pop Smoke’s biggest inspiration 50 Cent, the star’s team dropped his debut studio album today, Shoot For The Stars, Aim For The Moon – and we’re in love. With features from Lil Baby, Quavo and Future, the album differs from Pop’s usual drill-inspired beats and showcases more variety with guitar-infused trap beats and soulful R&B touches. The poignant debut album is just what we needed and we’re not disappointed.

Disclosure ft slowthai and Amine – “My High”

We can’t tell what’s better, the video or the song – either way, we’re obsessed. Taken from their upcoming album Ecstasy, Disclosure spoils us with their new deep house tune “My High” featuring hip-hop artists Amine and slowthai. The electronic duo blend frantic house basslines with boisterous hip-hop and rap for a high-energy club production. Opting for a more rap-focused album, the duo have been teasing us with eccentric infectious tunes and we’re not complaining.

AJ Tracey ft Mabel – “West Ten”

We’ve been waiting for a tune for the summer and AJ Tracey heard us. The king of summer has blessed us with his latest house-inspired single, enlisting BRIT winner Mabel for stellar vocals. With old school garage flows and fierce wordplay, AJ provides slick bars while Mabel’s delicate vocals guide us through the chorus. Blast this through your car stereo, as summer is finally here.

Kanye West ft Travis Scott – “Wash Us In The Blood”

Kanye West has dropped a new track? With Travis Scott? Inject it now. The Life of Pablo rapper has dropped his politically-charged track “Wash Us In The Blood”, against a backdrop of racial injustice. Over a chopped and screwed production, West talks mass incarceration, slavery and genocide highlighting the deaths of Breonna Taylor and Ahmaud Arbery – emphasising how their lives were cut short. Kanye West takes us back to his Yeezus era with this tune, and we’re curious for what else the rapper has in store.

Jessie Ware – “What’s Your Pleasure?”

Our hearts are now satisfied and our ears now blessed, as British pop singer Jessie Ware has dropped her album What’s Your Pleasure today. Transporting us to glittering dance floors laced with melancholic luxury, Ware’s album is a euphoric breath of fresh air with romantic touches and lustful longing. Standout tune “Save A Kiss”, gives us Robyn vibes with breathy emotional vocals and timeless synths. Turn up the volume and enter club quarantine with this post-disco-inspired album.

Glass Animals – “Heat Waves”

Taken from their forthcoming album Dreamland, Glass Animals uplift us with their new indie-pop tune “Heat Waves”. With dreamlike guitar-laded basslines and soothing vocals, lead singer Dave Bayley transports us to hazy late-night summer sunsets with this psychedelic hit. With their upcoming album pushed back till August in order to keep the focus on the Black Lives Matter movement, the album is set for release 7 August – mark your calendars.

Kaisha – “Tell Me”

Offering us a beautiful neo-soul tune is singer-songwriter Kaisha. Laced with carefully constructed lyrics and honeyed vocals, Kaisha bares all on this beautiful soulful track. Speaking on the release, the singer said, “Tell Me is when things keep falling apart even when you glue them together. It’s like climbing up a hill and ending up back at the starting line before you’ve even reached the peak. This track talks about the exhausting and toxic cycle that two people can get caught up in, with both people refusing to leave with the only way out.”

Teezo Touchdown – “Strong Friend”

Texas-based polymath Teezo Touchdown has released his new track “Strong Friend” today, encouraging us to look after our mental health. Marrying dynamic magnetism with a pop-punk bite, Teezo’s vocal charisma pours out in the song leaving us in awe. Speaking on the release the rapper said: “A reminder to check on the ones we look at as “strong” because it’s easy to have the misconception that the person who seems to have it all together may need some of the same support that helped you pull through.”

Baker Grace ft Cautious Clay – “Up All Night”

19-year-old singer Baker Grace delivers us an infectious and irresistible new pop track and we can’t get enough. Teaming up with Cautious Clay, the song starts with acoustic guitar rhythms before exploding into a fun pop anthem, filling our speakers. The tune is hot off the heels of her heartfelt singles “Pops’” and “Bottle of Wine”, and we are eager to hear more.