All prime cuts, here are the finest sounds from the past seven days.

MAAD – “Black Ice”

New York-based MAAD has shared the killer visuals for “Black Ice” – a powerfully cool jam that nods to old school funk and disco. Singer-songwriter, DJ and Model, MAAD does it all and does it really well. Already a commanding presence, MAAD is all set to take over.

Britney Spears – “Make Me…” ft. G-Eazy

Britney is back. “Make Me…”, the first single from her forthcoming ninth studio album, is so great that we’re now prepared to forgive everyone involved in the Britney Jean campaign. While never a slave to the zeitgeist, “Make Me…” feels refreshingly current. With an insanely successful Vegas residency and now a new album, it’s good to have Britney back on top.

KDA – “Just Say” ft. Tinashe

KDA has called in the services off Tinashe for “Just Say”. This inevitable, and deserved, hit is fuelled by a heavy house beat and is a certifiable dance anthem. This is new sonic territory for Tinashe who demonstrates her remarkable versatility on the track.

Motion Graphics – “Lense”

Motion Graphics, the solo project of NY based electronic artist Joe Williams, is set to drop his debut self-titled LP on 26 August. To get you suitably excited he’s shared “Lense”, a jagged and unpredictable symphony of electronic beats. The animated visual of the album artwork was created by CULTURESPORT.

Kamera – “Consignia” (Truncate Remix)

Truncate has performed remix duties on Kamera’s pounding “Consignia”. This remix strips the track back before rebuilding it with rave sample and potent claps. “Consignia” taken from Kamera’s “Ventoux” EP which is released by the good people at Phantasy.

Compton White – “Hounslow”

“Hounslow” is lifted from Compton White’s debut EP. Compton drew on his childhood, a life lived in flux, as the inspiration for the EP. The seasonal nature of Compton’s family’s business meant he was constantly moving between the island and the mainland. “Compton White” is released on 22 July via SWEETBOY Records.

PJ Harvey – “Guilty”

Taken from The Hope Six Demolition Project sessions, “Guilty” was recorded in January 2015 during PJ Harvey’s month long ‘Recording in Progress’ residency at Somerset House. PJ Harvey will play 17 headline dates across Europe later this year, including two shows at London’s Brixton Academy in October, followed by Glasgow, Manchester and Wolverhampton.

Cherryade – “The Crown”

“The Crown” is the second single from London-based Cherryade. Describing the track, Cherryade said: “…We then ran away to London and realised everything is the same everywhere you go. People are always going to talk about you, and make a big deal out of nothing. This is the song that made us realise we don’t give a shit anymore.” With a healthy dose of snark and charm, this duo and their synth-heavy and bombastic sound is destined for big things.

Julia Jacklin – “Leadlight”

Julia Jacklin has announced details of her debut LP – Don’t Let The Kids Win will be released on 7 October on Transgressive Records. Julia’s music is wistful and thoughtful, universal truths delivered with such beauty. Julia is set to tour extensively throughout the UK, Europe and North America with a headline show in London at The Lexington on 31 August 2016.

Ady Suleiman – “Running Away (The Social Experiment Remix)”

The Social Experiment has reworked Ady Suleiman’s hook-laden jam “Running Away” Written by Suleiman, “Running Away” is produced by Jonny Coffer (Jess Glynn, Beyonce, Naughty Boy) and is available to download now at iTunes.

BB Diamond – “Praying”

BB’s just dropped one of the biggest smashes of the Summer with “Praying”. The follow-up track to “Feeling”, it’s an infectious grower from Essex native, who also unveiled an equally brooding video to the track below. We can’t get enough of this girl.

Hannah Grace – “Mustang”

Hannah Grace returns with her fieriest record yet; Mustang is the title track from her newest EP. The release comes ahead of her first UK headline tour. Hannah first came to the scene in 2012, and soon grabbed the attention of fellow musician Gabrielle Aplin; she was swiftly signed to Aplin’s record label that year.

The Chainsmokers – “Don’t Let Me Down” feat. Daya

The Chainsmokers are slowly taking over the world with their unique take on electronic music. Previous single “Roses” was an incredible re-introduction to the duo, who first caught our attention with viral hit “Selfie”. This time around they have recruited rising newcomer Daya to tackle vocals and we can more than understand why this track has slowly been climbing the global chart.

Dan Austin

Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →