Disclosure, Sam Smith, Finn Foxell and SOFY lead this week’s new music round-up.

Sam Smith Kim Petras, Disclosure

IG: @samsmith

Sam Smith Kim Petras, Disclosure
IG: @samsmith

Sam Smith & Kim Petras – “Unholy” (Disclosure remix)

Just like the rest of the world, we’ve had Sam Smith and Kim Petras’ chart-topping hit “Unholy” on constant rotation as of late. However, just when we thought we couldn’t love it anymore, in walks Smith’s longtime collaborators, the Lawrence brothers, aka Disclosure, with this somersaulting house reimagination of one of the best collabs of the year.

Finn Foxell – “What’s Your Poison”

West-London 23-year-old Finn Foxell releases “What’s Your Poison”, featuring the production and co-writing chops of Jacob Manson (Aitch, Digga D, Ed Sheeran). The follow-up to “Leaders” sees Foxell in true-to-form anti-establishment, commanding and charismatic flow, melding the verve of classic punk rock with his rap roots – a reflection of the musical diet of Sex Pistols, The Clash and grime the eclectic musician grew up immersed in.

SOFY – “Egomaniac”

The magnetic, mordant pop of SOFY evolves evermore on “Egomaniac”, the latest release from the Leicester artist since her last single “Big Talk” made its way onto the Fifa 23 soundtrack. Lily Allen meets Easy Life, Sofy scorns an ex on the instantly alluring – “you’re not that great in the sack” she sings wryly, after a lightbulb moment where she realises all of the red flags she’d overlooked in the haze of love. Her ex has certainly been told where to go with this release anyway, and we’ve got a new break-up anthem to lean on in the process.

John Alone – “bad guy”

Nigerian-born, South London-based nascent alt-R&B star, John Alone muses over the aftermath of a relationship, and the chaotic, convoluted mind of the person experiencing it. The perils of bouncing between frivolous sexual encounters post-breakup is one topic covered – “I’ll be the bad guy,” Alone sings, with the bravado of Tyler The Creator and via a musical lexicon that marries the rapper with the evocative production of Frank Ocean. “Bad Guy is the funnest, most toxic song I’ve ever made and I love it very much for that reason. It’s exactly what happens when you get high at 2am and shout into your microphone,” Alone explains.

Russell Stewart – “Inward”

“Inward” exemplifies Glaswegian Russell Stewart’s dexterity for affecting musical expression melded with dynamic sonics. Electronic embellishments are interlaced with the poignancy of his vocal on this tender alt-soul showstopper, accompanied by a video filmed in the barren surroundings of an ex-industrial Glasgow building that now serves as a trailblazing creative space in the Scottish city. From one iconic Glasgow space to another, the singer is currently gearing up for a landmark headline gig at legendary venue King Tuts on 18th November,

Christian Leave – “Pull”

Christian Leave’s latest single “Pull” sees the vivid storyteller effortlessly unpack the bittersweetness and poignancy of youth. “‘Pull’ is an empathetic letter to the development and change inside or outside of a relationship,” Leave explains. “As hectic as it may be to feel and experience on the receiving end, we’re all constantly facing transition. I had to learn to take a step back and allow myself to grow in tandem rather than fight against things outside of my own control. This is me reconciling with my own changes.” The downtempo, orchestral-driven bedroom-pop cut follows Leave’s previous single “Why Not?”, as the singer and star of 2010s TikTok precursor, Vine, gears up to release a new EP “Superstar”, on November 4th.

Mergui – “Paradise”

Israel popstar Mergui takes another stride to global pop dominance with “Paradise”, a moody, slick cut that sees the singer acknowledge a relationship’s disintegration. The track features on his EP “Dark Side of the Rainbow”, released last week and featuring production credits from the likes of Russ Chell (Tate McRae, Lil Baby, Juice WRLD) and Mike Dean (Jay-Z, Beyonce, Drake, The Weeknd).

Jordan Adetunji – “Insecure (Love Yourself)”

Belfast artist Jordan Adetunji’s “Insecure (Love Yourself)” is a meditation on the uphill battle of learning to love yourself. A kind-hearted pep talk set to a blissed-out soundscape, Adetunji emerges as a beacon both in musical and emotional terms. “Insecure (Love Yourself)” is talk on self-love and how once we love who we are and are comfortable, we can share that love with other people,” Adetunji explains. “A straight raw reflection from where I was at in my life, especially the situation I was in.” A perfect pick-me-up and playlist addition if ever we heard it.

Lolo Zouaï – PLAYGIRL

Returning with her second album, PLAYGIRL is French-born, American idiosyncratic pop-R&B queen, Lolo Zouaï. With not just one persona featured on the record, but rather three, Lolo embodies Pl4yg1rl, Dreamgirl, and Partygirl across the 13 tracks, a reflection of her reluctance to remain static in sound or genre.


Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →