Our weekly run-down of the new music you should be listening to.

Hater – “Had It All”

Swedish indie pop quartet Hater return with new single “Had It All”, the second single from their debut LP You Tried. Brimming with heart and emotion, “Had It All” is joyously unfiltered and raw. You Tried will be released on 10 March via the always brilliant PNKSLM Recordings.

Freddie Dickson – “Martim Moniz”

Freddie Dickson, who is poised to release his debut album Panic Town, has shared new track “Martim Moniz”. The single is drenched in a bleak yet beautiful melancholia and draws upon influences like Nick Cave and Sharon Van Etten. Panic Town is released on 7 April 2017 via Shakey Records.

Ama Lou – “Not Always”

Ama Lou first grabbed our attention with “TBC” and has now followed it up with the Danny McGuire-directed visuals for the equally captivating “Not Always”. Ama Lou had this to say about the video: “The song is written from the perspective of someone addressing themselves or their inner self and that voice we all have in our heads addressing us – “I try to work harder for you, even when you’re wrong” , “you were the best of me” – and in the video we expanded this idea; expressing no matter your gender or place in society, it is about simply and truly feeling comfortable in your own skin.”

Betty Who – “Human Touch (Aquilo Remix)”

Betty Who has shared the remixes of recent single “Human Touch”, including the deliciously slow-burning edit from Aquilo. The lusty original was co-written by Who, Peter Thomas and Kyle Moorman and will feature on her forthcoming sophomore record. You can hear all the remixes here.

Pillow Person – “On Your Way”

“On Your Way” is the new single from Pillow Person, the solo recording project of Sarah Jones, and the follow-up to debut track “Go Ahead”. Jones has a warped pop sensitivity, making music that is never straightforward but always infinitely enjoyable. The video was filmed by Isaac Eastgate while “On Your Way” is released via Moshi Moshi Records.

Dutch Uncles – “Oh Yeah”

Manchester’s Dutch Uncles have shared “Oh Yeah”, the latest to track to drop from their (excellent) forthcoming Big Balloon LP. “Oh Yeah” has an alt-pop charm, an invigorated take on a genre classics by the likes of Sparks and XTC. Lead vocalists Duncan Wallis had this to say about the meaning behind “Oh Yeah”: “as soon as you are back to emotional zero, BAM! Opportunity knocks. Perhaps not in the way you thought it would, but a connection all the same, and the realisation genuinely carefree times are right there in your palm.”

Chloe Martini – “Change Of Heart (feat. Chiara Hunter)”

Warsaw-born producer and artist Chloe Martini has dropped “Change Of Heart”, a hypnotic track which features the sultry vocals of fast-rising musician Chiara Hunter. The track is your first taste of Martini’s forthcoming Never Twice The Same EP which will feature collaborations with some of our favourite women in music including: Anne-Marie, Vanessa White and BB Diamond.

Code Walk – “Guess What (feat. Smerz)”

Copenhagen-based duo Code Walk have unleashed their debut single “Guess What”, a driving slow banger which features the vocals of producer duo Smerz. “Guess What” is a brooding affair, a slick and measured meeting of analogue beats and smouldering vocals. Code Walk began playing together in 2012 and consists of friends Søren Gregersen and Jesper Nørbæk. The duo will release their as yet untitled debut EP in spring 2017.

Chastity – “Die From My Mind”

“Die From My Mind” is an expansive and reverb-soaked marvel that can be found on the new Captured Tracks released Peroxide 7” from Chastity – the recording moniker of Brandon Williams. Discussing the new 7″, Williams says: “I know I’m most likely to write when I’m upset or when I am pissed. These songs have just come out more complex because I am hoping to work something better out for myself, to write a happier ending.”

Henry Green – “More Than This”

Premiered by Wonderland, “More Than This” is the new jam from British songwriter and producer Henry Green. “It’s about breaking routine, reconnecting as human beings and living with freedom,” Green says of the track. “I think we’re occasionally guilty of sticking to the script too intently and I just wanted to write about running in a different direction – moving in a different way.” Green’s Real EP will be released later this year.


Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →