Your weekly rundown of the music worth listening to.

MUNA – “I Know a Place”

“I Know A Place” is a thing of beauty, an empowering banger that speaks to the lives of LGBTQ communities across the United States. The band’s lead-vocalist Katie Gavin shared a moving essay about the song, part of which read: “Let us push ourselves to imagine a peaceful America where no one has to live in fear. Let us continue to build spaces with our humble means that reflect the America of which we dream. Let us keep up the fight.”

Tom Tripp – “Aurelia”

“Aurelia” is the new, self-produced, track from Tom Tripp. Despite being a rough-cut, Tripp’s talent is evident and leaves you transfixed. Tripps’ vocals have a fragility, a rawness that implores you to listen closely, drawing you in. With a couple of demos to his name, Tripp has gotten off to a masterful start.

Junk Son – “Over (Ross From Friends Remix)”

The reliably excellent Ross From Friends performs remix duties on Junk Son’s recent release “Over”. Junk Son, aka London-based John Dunk, makes a distorted kind of pop music, warped electronica with twisting rhythms and that haunting, ambient vocal.

Letta – “You Were Wrong”

Letta has shared “You Were Wrong” from his forthcoming Redemption LP, the follow-up to his critically acclaimed debut album Testimony. The track marks something of a departure for Letta, who strays into clubland banger territory and the result is a thrilling demonstration of Letta’s nimbleness as a producer. “Where the first album was really about what I had been through, the dark times and times I longed to have”, Letta explains, “I think this one is about the friends that went through it all with me. This is a record for them.” Redemption will be released on 13 January via Coyote Records.

Run The Jewels – “Legend Has It”

Run The Jewels, comprised of Killer Mike and producer/rapper El-P, return in January with their third album RTJ3. First energised by the primary campaign of Bernie Sanders and then by the election of Donald Tump, it’s been a busy year for the duo who are at the top of their game as rappers and producers but with an added sense of purpose of energy. RTJ3 will be available as free download on 13 January.

DECCO – “Shooting Stars” feat. Mapei

DECCO serves up some old school house vibes on new track “Shooting Stars” which features arresting vocals from Mapei. DECCO is comprised of producers and songwriters Joacim Persson and Sebastian Arman who have previously collaborated with the likes of John Legend, Kelly Clarkson, Selena Gomez and RY X. You can expect to hear DECCO’s self-titled debut LP in 2017.

Raleigh Ritchie – “Unicorn Loev”

Raleigh Ritchie has teased the release of his new Mind The Gap EP with new cut “Unicron Loev”. With shades of disco and electro, the track sees Raleigh Ritchie loosening up. With the release of his debut album and the new EP, Raleigh Ritchie continues to establish himself as one of music’s most exciting new voices. Mind The Gap drops on 16 December.

GLOK – “Dissident”

North London’s GLOK has shared the expansive “Dissident”. Influenced by ‘70s and ‘80s electronica, the hypnotic track sits at the crossroads of analogue and digital with its driving synth sounds. Discussing his work, GLOK said: “When we got too good at making electronic music ‘perfect’, when everything became digital, the music swung too far the other way. Now, in society too, we live between the worlds, working with the push and pull of both. My music exists in that middle ground, the same way we do as people.”

GAIKA – “Glad We Found It”

London’s GAIKA has streamed the stunning Father (Awful Records) directed visuals for “Glad We Found It”. The video has a pervasive sense of unease, an unsettling tone that reflects the darkness within the record – an insight into his warped and intricate musical world. “Glad We Found It” appeared on GAIKA’s brilliant SPAGHETTO EP.

Nils Bech – “Glimpse Of Hope” (Joe Goddard Remix)

Joe Goddard works his magic on Nils Bech’s “Glimpse Of Hope”. With a bewitching falsetto and a clever gift for fusing elements of club music, classical and synth-pop has built a considerable amount of buzz. “Glimpse Of Hope” features on Echo, Nils Bech’s first album for DFA Records.

Marie Dahlstrøm – “Mine”

Following the pivotal success of her recent single “One More Reason”, Danish-bred singer-songwriter Marie Dahlstrøm returns with ‘90s-infused R&B soul cut “Mine”. Keeping things close to home, Dahlstrøm wrote the track in her hometown of Copenhagen with Pelle Blarke – the Danish hit-maker responsible for “Mine”s velvety-smooth production. The pair wrote the track in just a few hours on a summer’s day and were able to perfectly capture the light, optimistic feeling of summer love.

Rhys Lewis – “Waking Up Without You”

23 year old singer/songwriter Rhys Lewis has just recently released his debut single “Waking Up Without You” and it has already garnered attraction that has propelled it up to #1 on Spotify’s Viral Chart, as well as impressively racking up over 170K streams in 2 weeks! Catch him performing it live with this intimate acoustic session.

Dan Austin

Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →