All killer, no filler, here’s our guide to the week’s hottest tracks.

ALMA – “Dye My Hair”

“Dye My Hair” is the instantly memorable title-track from twenty-year old ALMA’s new EP. With her distinctive neon green hair and even more distinctive standout vocals, ALMA cuts through the raft of singers making dance/pop crossover. ALMA’s music connects, brilliantly produced but retaining her raw charisma. Dye My Hair is out now.

Cosmo Pyke – “Social Sites”

“Social Sites” is the impressive debut track from 18 year-old Cosmo Pyke. A laid-back fusion of blues, jazz and hip-hop, “Social Sites” makes for a charming introduction. The Brit School graduate cites the likes of A Tribe Called Quest, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Joni Mitchell and Hiatus Kaiyote as influences and recently completed a UK tour supporting Rat Boy. “Social Sites” will feature on Cosmo’s forthcoming Curser’s Lament EP which was produced with Grammy winner Fraser T Smith.

Parcels – “Gamesofluck”

“Gamesofluck” is the new single from Berlin-based, by way of Byron Bay Australia, five-piece Parcels. “Gamesofluck” boasts some seriously glorious harmonies and killer throwback vibes; it’s a driving and funky slice of modern pop. The bands forthcoming Hideout EP drops on 27 January 2017.

THEY. – “Rather Die”

LA’s THEY. have shared “Rather Die”, the follow-up to recent tracks “Say When” and “Deep End” and it’s an inspired flip of Nirvana’s “Polly”. Never content to remain within one genre, the duo jump across musical styles with enviable skill. Their unpredictably is a joyous thing to listen to and they just keep getting better.

angelic milk – “Dead Radio”

angelic milk returns following the release of the “Teenage Movie Soundtrack” EP with a tribute single to one of her musical heroes, the late Rowland S. Howard. “Dead Radio”, a wistful and haunting tribute to one of music’s great innovators, first appeared on Howard’s Teenage Snuff Film LP. The single was released on 24 October, the day which would have been Howard’s 57th birthday.

Skott – “Lack Of Emotion”

Alt-pop wonder Skott has released the glistening “Lack Of Emotion”, the follow-up to debut tracks “Porcelain” and “Wolf”. “Lack Of Emotion” is a captivating effort with her vocals as hypnotic as ever. Skott said: “Some people seem to have this off switch, where they can shut off their emotions when things become difficult. The song is about this shell that people create – I’ve got this fascination and fear of it because I feel like I’m the complete opposite when it comes to emotions, I can’t deny how I feel. It’s a bit of a melancholic disco.”

elkkle – “Don’t Look Down”

Melbourne-based producer elkkle has dropped “Don’t Look Down”, the first of two singles you can expect to hear from him before the end of 2016. A beautifully paced piece of electronica, the track gradually builds towards a euphoric conclusion. “Don’t Look Down” is an exciting and perfectly crafted start to a hugely promising career.

Harper – “No Love In The Jungle”

Harper returns with new track “No Love In The Jungle”, an anthem for city dwellers. With a powerful vocal presence and a gift for articulating human experiences, Harper is an incredibly exciting prospect. Harper had this to say about the track: “I moved to London when I was 18; straight out of a small town in Wales into a fast paced, never-sleeping concrete jungle. So many things were utterly bewildering to me. I felt that the city could be quite isolating and lonely, even though millions of people are packed into one place…”

Ariana And The Rose – “Supercool” (Toyboy & Robin Remix)

Ariana and the Rose has let London based House duo Toyboy & Robin loose on new single “Supercool” and the resulting remix is mesmeric. The boys fused elements of house and garage with a driving bass line to create this hedonistic gem. Discussing their remix, they said: “Doing this remix was a lot of fun. We really liked the original when it was sent over so doing the remix was a no brainer for us! We just hope we’ve done it justice!”. Ariana and the Rose release “Supercool” on 4 November.

RALPH – “Busy Man”

Toronto-based singer RALPH, aka Raffa Weyman, tips a hat to disco on new single “Busy Man”. A jam about that agonising wait for a phone call from the one you love, it’s a bittersweet, heartfelt affair that tackles the excuses we all make for somebody who just isn’t that into you.

Bright Light Bright Light – “Maniac”

2016 has been quite the year for Rod Thomas aka Bright Light Bright Light. A full length album featuring Elton John, Alan Cumming and the Scissor Sisters, dividing his time between London and New York as well as a current UK and European Tour, and STILL he has time to release a new EP. ‘Cinematography’ is an ode to Rod’s favourite tracks from the silver screen , lead by the fantastic ‘Maniac’, from Flashdance, which is out now ahead of the EP on November 25th.

Dan Austin

Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →