Start your week off right with our selection of the finest tracks.

Cullen Omori – Cinnamon

Ex-Smith Westerns frontman Cullen Omori has shared details of his upcoming debut solo record New Misery, which is released on 18 March via Sub Pop. Omori also dropped the video for “Cinnamon”, a piece of blissed out pop which demonstrates that he didn’t lose his touch in the years since the last Smith Westerns release.

Sofi Tukker – Matadora

New York-based duo Sofi Tukker, comprised of Tucker Halpern and Sophie Hawley-Weld, has shared the monstrously enjoyable “Matadora”. This isn’t your average interpretation of poem by the Brazilian poet Chacal; it’s a thumping and relentless dance track. Poetry has no right to be this enjoyable. Fingers crossed they follow this up with some Pam Ayres.

Vanessa White – Nostalgia

Vanessa White is taking full advantage of The Saturdays’ hiatus and continues to impress with new track “Nostalgia”. The track, taken from White’s forthcoming EP Chapter One, is a hook-heavy R&B jam – a sonic shift from the polished pop we came to expect (and love) from The Saturdays. Chapter One will be released on 19 February.

Blood Orange & Nelly Furtado – Hadron Collider

“Hadron Collider” is the result of the unexpected collaboration between Blood Orange and Nelly Furtado. The stunning ballad had previously been sold exclusively on cassette at Blood Orange’s December Apollo shows but has now appeared online via Disco Naïveté. “Hadron Collider” sits very comfortably amongst Blood Orange’s previous output. Furtado hasn’t released a single since 2012’s “Waiting For The Night”.

Mavis Staples – High Note

The legendary Mavis Staples can do no wrong. Staples has been performing since the 1950s, firstly as part of her family group The Staple Singers and then as a solo performer and possess one the most distinctive and beautiful voices in music. Staples has enlisted Nick Cave, Justin Vernon, tUnE-yArds and Neko Case for her new album Livin’ on a High Note which will be released on 19 February. Aged 76, Staples is showing no signs of slowing down.

Fraser Jane – Enough                                                                                 

“Enough” is the debut track from Irish songwriter Fraser Jane. Jane blends her otherworldly vocals with a frenzied tribal beat to create a uniquely ethereal sound. This self-produced track offers an enticing first glimpse into the musical world of Fraser Jane.

Taylor Swift – Welcome To New York (The Knocks Bootleg)

Seemingly apropos of nothing, The Knocks have reworked Taylor Swift’s “Welcome To New York” and it’s great. Gone are the horns, replaced by a club ready beat. In 2015 the duo released “I Wish (My Taylor Swift)”, an ode to the all-conquering Pennsylvanian. Enjoy this unofficial remix while you can.

Khotin – Baikal Acid

“Baikal Acid” is the title track from Canadian producer Khotin new EP which is released via 1080p. This bit of deep house should be enough to dissuade you from continuing to bore your friends with your plans for a “dry” January and head to the club.

Dr. Dog – Bring My Baby Back

It may have taken 15 years but Dr. Dog’s album Psychedelic Swamp is now getting a proper release. Bootlegs have been floating around the internet for quite some time but now the Philadelphian collective has reworked their cassette-only debut into a studio album. Psychedelic Swamp features original members of Dr. Dog and was recorded at their Mt. Slippery studio. During the sessions they also recorded a brand new track titled “Bring My Baby Back”. Psychedelic Swamp will finally be released on 5 February.

Dan Austin

Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →