Here are ten of the finest tracks currently doing the rounds. Ciara covering The Rolling Stones, Olly Murs dropping an excellent single and new tracks from the likes of Christine and the Queens, KDA, NZCA Lines and Lushlife.

Olly Murs Kiss Me                                                             

Cast aside your prejudices – your mum’s favourite popstar and trilby aficionado Olly Murs has made one of 2015’s best pop songs. This song could easily have been on Carly Rae Jepsen’s E•MO•TION (the ultimate compliment). ‘Kiss Me’, which will no doubt soundtrack multiple X Factor montages, will be available as part of the Christmas re-release of 2014’s Never Been Better. The perfect gift for those who loved that album but thought it was too short and wished it contained four more songs.

KDA feat Tinie Tempah and Katy B Turn The Music Louder (Rumble)

‘Rumble’, by UK house producer KDA has been floating around for quite some time but for the single release there are added vocals from Tinie Tempah and Katy B. It’s Katy B who shines on KDA’s track. A new Katy B album in 2016 wouldn’t go amiss.

NZCA Lines Persephone Dreams

NZCA Lines, is the solo project of Metronomy’s Michael Lovett. ‘Persephone Dreams’ is the first single taken from upcoming album Infinite Summer which is released on 22 January 2016 via the good people at Memphis Industries. Any track that climaxes with duelling steel drums is guaranteed to be a winner.

Ciara Paint It, Black

Those people who always thought that The Rolling Stones were good but that their songs would sound better if they were recorded by Ciara are going to be delighted. Ciara has gone and covered ‘Paint It, Black’. The track is taken from the soundtrack to The Last Witch Hunter in which Vin Diesel is “all that stands between humanity and the combined forces of the most horrifying witches in history”.

Selena Gomez Kill Em with Kindness

Selena Gomez’s Revival is easily one of 2015’s finest pop albums. 2015 has been widely referred to as the year of superlative pop albums. One of the album’s highlights, along with singles ‘Good For You’ and ‘Same Old Love’, is the Katy Perry-esque ‘Kill Em with Kindness’, produced by Benny Blanco. The song, Gomez claims, is not about ex-Boyfriend Justin Bieber but her time signed to Hollywood Records.

Lushlife Body Double

‘Body Double’ is taken from Lushlife’s upcoming album Ritualize which is set to be released on 19 February 2016. Lushlife, who self-produced his first two albums, has teamed up with the production trio CSLSX for Ritualize which will also feature contributions from Ariel Pink, Killer Mike, Freeway, Marissa Nadler and RJD2. ‘Body Double’ is amazing but now we’ve just got to sit around and wait for 19 February 2016.


Brighton’s finest has just dropped their new EP Part Two. IYES, comprised of Josh Christopher and Melis Soyaslanová, has been making consistently brilliant electro pop for quite some time now. ‘Gone’ starts as a piece of minimal RnB but then morphs into a club anthem. It’s skilfully done and rather than sounding disjointed, ‘Gone’ sounds immense.

Sofi de la Torre Mess

‘Mess’, taken from Sofi de la Torre’s EP of the name, is a super slick slice of electropop with an absolutely huge chorus. Sofi, rather perfectly, sums up the track when she says “It’s upbeat, it’s fun and it’s mess”. Pop music at its finest. Sofi will be conquering the world in no time.

Christine and The Queens Jonathan (feat. Perfume Genius)

Wonderlist favourite Christine and The Queens, aka Héloïse Letissier, has shared another new track from her self-titled album which is released on 16 October. ‘Jonathan’ is a breath-taking songs and features vocals from Perfume Genius. Letisseir’s emotions are raw; ‘Jonathan’ is a hugely powerful artistic statement.

Pill Hot Glue

Clocking in at 3m24 ‘Hot Glue’ is unrelenting, exhausting and exhilarating. A very happy marriage of punk and free jazz (which is quite an impressive feat to pull off). Pill is a collaboration between artists Veronica Torres, Andrew Spaulding, Jonathan Campolo and Benjamin Jaffe. ‘Hot Glue’ will be released on 30 October 2015.

Dan Austin

Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →