This week’s #Wonderlist contains big new pop tunes from French wonder Petite Meller, Little Mix and Bogotá’s Lao Ra. There’s also more new music from comeback queen Janet Jackson. See you next week!

Petite Meller – Barbaric

‘Barbaric’ is the latest single from Petite Meller, the genius responsible for “Song of The Summer” ‘Baby Love’. The track is another slice of euphoria and unbridled joy and features 2015’s finest saxophone break.


Little Mix – Love Me Like You

If 60s girl groups like The Shangri-las and The Crystals had spent less time lusting after motorcycle gangs and rebels and more time hanging out in shopping malls they probably would have produced a song like this. ‘Love Me Like You’ is basically ‘The Promise’ version 2.0 and is therefore amazing.


Janet Jackson – BURNITUP! Feat. Missy Elliott

Janet Jackson continues her mighty run of new tracks with ‘BURNITUP!’. Jackson has called in Missy Elliott for the track and the result is explosive. While ‘No Sleep’ and ‘Unbreakbale’ were super smooth slow-jams, ‘BURNITUP!’ finds Jackson tearing up the club. ‘BURNITUP!’ is the third song to be released from Unbreakable which is set to drop on 2 October. Counting down the days.

Olivier Heim – Ocean

‘Ocean’ is the lead track from Olivier Heim’s debut album A Different Life, set to be released on 4 December. The album was produced by Michał Kupicz and and mastered by Joe Lambert (Deerhunter, Toro y Moi, Cass McCombs, Unknown Mortal Orchestra). The video for ‘Ocean’ was inspired by Alain Resnais’ 1961 film ‘Last Year at Marienbad’ and is the perfect visual accompaniment to Heim’s music which is psychedelia tinged with melancholy.

Midnight To Monaco – Suicide (Jerome LOL Dub)                                                                                                                   

Midnight To Monaco are Canadian vocalist Ricky Ducati and LA-based Australian songwriter/producer Donnie Sloan. Their debut single ‘Suicide’, which was released via Future Classic, has been remixed by Body High label boss Jerome LOL. It’s 50’s doo wop meets Tomorrowland. Excellent stuff.

The Knocks & Matthew Koma – I Wish (My Taylor Swift)

‘I Wish (My Taylor Swift)’ is an end-of-summer anthem with breezy vocals and light synths. Vocals on the tracks are provided by Matthew Koma, probably best known for his Zedd collaboration ‘Spectrum’. The Knocks, comprised of Ben “B-Roc” Ruttner and James “JPatt” Patterson are set to release their debut album 55 very soon.

Girli – So You Think You Can Fuck With Me Do Ya

Girli, who has just released her double A-side single ‘So You Think You Can Fuck With Me Do Ya/ASBOys’. This is pop music recorded by someone who has probably spent a lot of time on London night busses. Phenomenal.

Loxe – Shoulda Known

London based instrumentalist/producer Loxe is set to release his debut EP Footprints. Loxe has previously worked with a number of London’s most exciting acts having produced for Bo Rocha and Alexandr London. Loxe is a supremely confident producer and his blending of synths and vocal samples is something to behold. The first track on the EP is the mightily impressive ‘Shoulda Known’. Footprints is released on 30 October via Dusty Records.

Lauv – Adrenaline

Lauv, aka New Yorker Ari Leff, has been praised by everyone from Liam Payne to Chloë Grace Moretz. Lauv went through a tough break-up and as a result produced his debut EP Lost In The Light. Lauv describes writing and recording the EP as: “a process of me discovering and confronting how dynamic relationships can be.”

Lao Ra – Jesus Made Me Bad

Apparently Lao Ra’s mum isn’t very happy with this song, hailing from the very Catholic city of Bogotá this is hardly a surprise. Those who dismiss pop music as lightweight ought to listen to ‘Jesus Made Me Bad’, an absolute banger containing a searing critique of society.

Dan Austin

Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related → Related →